Exploring the wine region of New York State

Educational, extensive knowledge about this region. This is what I could say about the mini master class and round table discussion led by Dr. Jamie Goode.

New York State boasts six major wine growing regions:

  • Finger Lakes AVA.

  • Lake Erie AVA.

  • Niagara Escarpment AVA.

  • Hudson Valley AVA.

  • Long Island AVA.

  • Champlain Valley AVA (The latest AVA in New York State, approved in 2016)

New York State as wine region, still unexplored and not very well known for the majority of wine lovers or wine professional in Europe. Saying that, the first record of planting grapes is dated back in 17th century by Dutch settlers.

For many years the region has been dominated by Native American varieties as such; Concord, Cassady or Isabella. However, European vinifera grapes can now being seen particularly in Seneca Lake AVA and Cayuga AVA, where Riesling, Chardonnay and Cabernet Franc are increasing and playing an important role.

Today, there are over 440 wineries in New York State.

My Highlights: